Survey Promo
RVA App Promo Image

Pope announces 21 new Cardinals including six from Asia

The consistory for the creation of the 21 new cardinals will be on August 27, 2022. (Photo: Vatican Media)

At the conclusion of the Regina Coeli on Sunday, May 29, Pope Francis said that on Saturday, 27 August, he will hold a Consistory for the creation of new cardinals.

He also said that he will meet during the next two days - on Monday and Tuesday, 29-30 August - with all the cardinals to reflect on the new Apostolic Constitution Praedicate evangelium (Preach the Gospel).

“On Saturday, 27 August, I will hold a Consistory for the creation of new Cardinals. Let us pray that they will help me in my mission as Bishop of Rome for the good of all God's people.”

The College of Cardinals currently consists of 208 Cardinals, of whom 117 are electors and 91 non-electors. As of 27 August, the number will grow to 229 Cardinals, of whom 131 will be electors.

Wide-ranging group
Eight of the newly named Cardinals are from Europe, five from Asia, two from Africa, one from North America, and four from Central and Latin America.

Here are the names of all 21 new cardinals:
1. Archbishop Arthur Roche - Prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments

2. Archbishop Lazzaro You Heung sik – Prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy (South Korea)

3. Archbishop Fernando Vérgez Alzaga, L.C. – President of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Governorate for Vatican City State

4. Archbishop Jean-Marc Aveline - Metropolitan Archbishop of Marseille (France)

5. Bishop Peter Okpaleke - Bishop of Ekwulobia (Nigeria)

6. Archbishop Leonardo Ulrich Steiner, O.F.M. - Metropolitan Archbishop of Manaus (Brazil)

7. Archbishop Filipe Neri António Sebastião di Rosário Ferrão - Archbishop of Goa and Damão (India)

8. Bishop Robert Walter McElroy – Bishop of San Diego (U.S.A)

9. Archbishop Virgilio Do Carmo Da Silva, S.D.B. – Archbishop of Dili (East Timor)

10. Bishop Oscar Cantoni - Bishop of Como (Italy)

11. Archbishop Anthony Poola - Archbishop di Hyderabad (India).

12. Archbishop Paulo Cezar Costa - Metropolitan Archbishop of Brasília (Brazil)

13. Bishop Richard Kuuia Baawobr, M. Africa - Bishop of Wa (Ghana)

14. Archbishop William Goh Seng Chye - Archbishop of Singapore (Singapore)

15. Archbishop Adalberto Martínez Flores - Metropolitan Archbishop of Asunción (Paraguay)

16. Archbishop Giorgio Marengo, I.M.C. – Apostolic Prefect of Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia)

17. Archbishop Jorge Enrique Jiménez Carvajal - Archbishop Emeritus of Cartagena (Colombia)

18. Bishop Lucas Van Looy, S.D.B. - Bishop Emeritus of Gent (Belgium)

19. Archbishop Arrigo Miglio - Archbishop Emeritus of Cagliari (Italy)

20. Fr. Gianfranco Ghirlanda, S.J. – Professor di Theology

21. Msgr. Fortunato Frezza – Canon of Saint Peter's Basilica

Since his election in 2013, Pope Francis has created 101 cardinals from 58 countries at seven consistories.

The last consistory to create new cardinals took place on Nov. 28, 2020. The new cardinals included Cardinal Wilton Gregory of Washington and Cardinal Raniero Cantalamessa, the Preacher to the Papal Household since 1980.

Immediately following the 2020 consistory, Pope Francis had appointed 73 of the members of the College of Cardinals eligible to vote for a future conclave. Benedict XVI had named 39 of the cardinal electors and John Paul II had appointed 16.

Ahead of the upcoming consistory, there are currently 117 cardinal electors, 67 (52%) of whom have been appointed by Pope Francis. - With inputs from Vatican News and Catholic News Agency


Radio Veritas Asia (RVA), a media platform of the Catholic Church, aims to share Christ. RVA started in 1969 as a continental Catholic radio station to serve Asian countries in their respective local language, thus earning the tag “the Voice of Asian Christianity.”  Responding to the emerging context, RVA embraced media platforms to connect with the global Asian audience via its 21 language websites and various social media platforms.