Survey Promo
RVA App Promo Image

3 Asian cardinals appointed member of Congregation for Divine Worship

Pope Francis (Photo by Vatican News)

Pope Francis on June 1 named three cardinals from Asia as members of the Vatican’s Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments.

The Asian members include Philippines’ Luis Antonio Tagle, prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples, Myanmar's Cardinal Maung Bo of Yangon, president of the Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (FABC) and South Korea’s cardinal-elect Archbishop Lazzaro You Heung-sik, prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy based in the Vatican.

On June 1, the Holy See press office announced the appointments along with the following Churchmen. 

Cardinal Orani João Tempesta, O. Cist., archbishop of São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; Cardinal Daniel Fernando Sturla Berhouet, S.D.B., archbishop of Montevideo, Uruguay; Cardinal Blase Joseph Cupich, archbishop of Chicago, United States of America; Cardinal Cristóbal López Romero, S.D.B., archbishop of Rabat, Morocco; Cardinal Celestino Aós Braco, O.F.M. Cap., archbishop of Santiago de Chile, Chile; Cardinal Kevin Joseph Farrell, prefect of the Dicastery for the Laity, Family and Life; Cardinal Konrad Krajewski, Almoner of His Holiness; Cardinal Mario Grech, secretary general of the Synod of Bishops; Cardinal Marcello Semeraro, prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints; Archbishop Filippo Iannone, O. Carm., president of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts; Archbishop Joseph Augustine Di Noia, O.P., adjunct secretary of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith; Archbishop Ilson de Jesus Montanari, secretary of the Congregation for Bishops; Archbishop Jean Legrez, O.P., of Albi, France; Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M., of Porto Alegre, Brazil; Archbishop Jorge Carlos Patrón Wong of Jalapa, Mexico; Archbishop Mario Iceta Gavicagogeascoa of Burgos, Spain; Bishop David Douglas Crosby, O.M.I., of Hamilton, Canada; Bishop Edmar Perón of Paranaguá, Brazil; and Bishop Hugh Gilbert of Aberdeen, Great Britain.

Under the policy, which took effect on Jan. 25, 2022, priests, deacons, and ordained ministers who wish to use the Old Rite of the Mass must submit their requests to the cardinal in writing and agree to abide by the new norms.

The Congregation for Divine Worship is led by the English Archbishop Arthur Roche, who will receive the red hat at a consistory on Aug. 27. Roche succeeded Guinean Cardinal Robert Sarah in the post in May 2021.

When the new Vatican constitution comes into force on June 5, Pentecost Sunday, the Congregation will be renamed the Dicastery for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments. 


Radio Veritas Asia (RVA), a media platform of the Catholic Church, aims to share Christ. RVA started in 1969 as a continental Catholic radio station to serve Asian countries in their respective local language, thus earning the tag “the Voice of Asian Christianity.”  Responding to the emerging context, RVA embraced media platforms to connect with the global Asian audience via its 21 language websites and various social media platforms.